Tennessee Education Association

Great Public Schools for All Students


Student TEA (STEA)


Student Tennessee Education Association (STEA)  is one of the nation's largest state affiliates for students preparing to teach. Membership is open to students enrolled in any Tennessee college or University.

Through its affiliation with the Tennessee Education Association (TEA) and the National Education Association (NEA), our student program leads tomorrow's teachers to a bright professional future. STEA exists to help our members move smoothly from student on campus to beginning teacher. STEA gives you the edge during the crucial first five years in classroom.

College can't do that, no matter how it good it is. It takes veteran teachers helping you find your way. STEA adds to your formal education by providing life lessons about salaries, contracts, competency testing, evaluation, discipline, certification requirements and more.

Join the 60,000 other students across the nation as part of NEA's student program (NEA-SP) as a member of STEA today. There are over 3 million teachers, education support professionals and students just like you waiting to welcome and support you.   Plus during your first year of teaching and regular NEA membership, you'll be eligible to 
receive a rebate of $20 for each year you were a student member.

To find out more, contact TEA's Instruction and Professional Development. You can also join STEA now. 

2014 – 2015 STEA Executive Board

President- David Johnson – Walters State Community College
President Elect – Raymond Boyd – Tennessee State University
Vice President East – Ashton Corbin – University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Vice President Middle – Heather Cothron – Tennessee State University
Vice President West – (To be determined)
SecretaryHannah Corlew – University of Tennessee at Knoxville
Executive Board Member – Dee Taylor – University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Spring 2014 Convention Awards

Outstanding STEA Chapter Award:

  • 1st Place: Tennessee State University 
  • 2nd Place: Union University

Elaine Jewett Outstanding Membership Award:

  • Largest Chapter Membership: University of Tennessee at Knoxville
  • Achievement in Membership Recruitment and Growth: Austin Peay State University and Nashville State Community College

Thelma Barker Community Service Award:

  • Tennessee State University 

Scrapbook Award:

  • 1st Place: Tennessee State University
  • 2nd Place: Walters State Community College
  • 3rd Place: University of Tennessee at Martin

Spirit Award:

  • Lincoln Memorial University