HCDE System Calendar

HAMILTON COUNTY SCHOOL CALENDAR: 2015–16

(Approved by School Board: 11/20/14)

OPENING DATE – AUGUST 6, 2015 SCHOOL DAYS – 180 CLOSING DATE – MAY 27, 2016 1ST TERM – 83 DAYS

August 6, Thursday ------------------------- Administrative In-Service #1 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 7, Friday ------------------------- Administrative In-Service #2 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 10, Monday ------------------------- Administrative In-Service #3 Registration Day for Students (no classes)

August 11, Tuesday ------------------------- Administrative In-Service #4 (System-Wide) NO STUDENTS

August 12, Wednesday ------------------------- Administrative In-Service #5 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 13, Thursday ------------------------- First Full Day of School

September 7, Monday ------------------------- Labor Day (Paid Holiday #1)

October 2, Friday ------------------------- End of 1st Quarter (36 Days)

October 5 – 9 ------------------------- Fall Break (5 Non-Paid Days)

Oct 12 – Nov 30 ------------------------- Schools choose one extended day (3.5 hours) for Parent-Tchr Conferences (FIRST half [½] of Administrative In-Service #6)

October 16, Friday ------------------------- Report Cards

November 25 – 27 ------------------------- Thanksgiving Holiday – (1 Non-Paid, Paid Holiday #2 and #3)

December 17, Thursday ------------------------- Last Day of Classes before Winter Holidays

December 18, Friday ------------------------- Teacher Professional Development #1 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS End of 2nd Quarter (47 Days)

December 21 – January 1, 2016 --------------- Winter Break (10 Paid Days)

2ND TERM – 97 DAYS January 4,

Monday ------------------------- Teacher Professional Development #2 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

January 5, Tuesday ------------------------- Teacher Professional Development #3 (System-Wide) NO STUDENTS

January 6, Wednesday ------------------------- School Reopens

January 8, Friday ------------------------- Report Cards

January 18, Monday ------------------------- Martin Luther King Day (Paid Holiday #4)

Feb 1 – March 18 ------------------------- Schools choose one extended day (3.5 hours) for Parent-Tchr Conferences (SECOND half [½] of Administrative In-Service #6)

February 15, Monday ------------------------- Presidents' Day (Non-Paid Holiday)

March 18, Friday ------------------------- End of 3rd Quarter (53 Days)

March 24, Thursday ------------------------- Report Cards

March 25, Friday ------------------------- Spring Holiday (Paid Holiday #5)

March 28 – April 1, Monday-Friday ----------- Spring Break (5 Non-Paid Days)

April 6, Wednesday ------------------------- Kindergarten Pre-Registration and Pre-K Applications

May 27, Friday ------------------------- Teacher Professional Development #4 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

May 27, Friday ------------------------- Last Day of School – Report Cards – End of 4th Quarter (44 days)

ADMINISTRATIVE IN-SERVICE 2015-16

(6 DAYS) PAID VACATION – (10) August 6 and 7 / August 10 – 12, 2015 / Oct 12 – Nov 30 (Schools select one addtl half-day) December 21, 2015 - January 1, 2016 February 1 – March 18, 2015 (Schools select one addtl half-day)

TEACHER PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT (4 Days) Students do not attend classes.

PAID HOLIDAYS – (5)

December 18, 2015

September 7, 2015

January 4, 2016 / January 5, 2016 (System-Wide)

November 26 and 27, 2015

May 27, 2016

January 18, 2016

March 25, 2016

DAYS TO BE COUNTED EACH GRADING PERIOD SECONDARY PROGRESS REPORTS

1ST Term 1st Quarter: 8/6 - 10/2/15 Elem. Mid-Term 9/4 Report Cards 10/16 36 1st Nine Weeks: 8/28 and 9/18

2nd Quarter: 10/12 - 12/18/15 Elem. Mid-Term 11/13 Report Cards 1/8 47

2nd Nine Weeks: 10/30 and 11/20

2nd Term 3rd Quarter: 1/4 - 3/18/16 Elem. Mid-Term 2/12 Report Cards 3/24 53

3rd Nine Weeks: 1/29 and 2/19

4th Quarter: 3/21 - 5/27/16 Elem. Mid-Term 4/15 Report Cards 5/27 44

4th Nine Weeks: 4/15 and 5/6

TOTAL 180