HCDE System Calendar

HAMILTON COUNTY SCHOOL CALENDAR: 2012 – 2013

(Approved by School Board: 1/19/12) Amended 1/27/12

OPENING DATE – AUGUST 2, 2012

CLOSING DATE – MAY 24, 2013

1ST TERM – 88 DAYS

August 2, Thursday.......................................... Administrative In-Service #1 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 3, Friday ............................................... Administrative In-Service #2 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 6, Monday ........................................... Administrative In-Service #3 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

(System-Wide – New Teacher Orientation: 8:00 – 1:00)

August 7, Tuesday ........................................... Registration Day

August 8, Wednesday ...................................... Teacher Professional Development #1 (System-Wide) NO STUDENTS

August 9, Thursday.......................................... Teacher Professional Development #2 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 10, Friday ............................................. Administrative In-Service #4 (School-Based) NO STUDENTS

August 13, Monday .......................................... First Full Day of School

September 3, Monday ...................................... Labor Day (Paid Holiday #1)

October 5, Friday ............................................. End of 1st Quarter (42.5 Days) – (Teacher Full Day) NO STUDENTS

½ day a.m. Teacher Prof Dev #2 ½ (School-Based) ½ day p.m. Admin In-Service #4 ½

October 8 - 12 ................................................... Fall Break (5 Non-Paid Days)

October 17, Wednesday ................................... PSAT Testing

October 19, Friday ........................................... Report Cards

* October 26, Friday ........................................... Parent-Teacher Conferences Students 1/2 day

November 21 - 23 ............................................. Thanksgiving Holiday – (1 Non-Paid, Paid Holiday #2 and #3)

December 20, Thursday ................................... Last Day of Classes before Winter Holidays

December 21, Friday ....................................... End of 2nd Quarter (46 Days) – (Teacher Full Day) NO STUDENTS

½ day a.m. Teacher Prof Dev #3 (School-Based) ½ day p.m. Admin In-Service #5 (Records Day)

December 24 – January 4, 2012 ...................... Winter Break (10 Paid Days)

 

2ND TERM – 92 DAYS

January 7, Monday ........................................... Teacher Professional Development #4 (School Based) NO STUDENTS

January 8, Tuesday .......................................... Teacher Professional Development #5 (System-Wide) NO STUDENTS

January 9, Wednesday ................................... School Reopens

January 11, Friday ........................................... Report Cards

January 21, Monday ......................................... Martin Luther King Day (Paid Holiday #4)

* February 15, Friday .......................................... Parent-Teacher Conferences Students 1/2 Day

February 18, Monday ....................................... Presidents' Day (Non-Paid Holiday)

March 15, Friday ............................................... End of 3rd Quarter (47.5 Days)

March 19, Tuesday .......................................... Teacher Prof Development #6 (School Based) ACT Testing NO STUDENTS

March 22, Friday --------------------------------------- Report Cards

March 25 - 28 ................................................... Spring Break (4 Non-Paid Days)

March 29, Friday -------------------------------------- Spring Holiday (Paid Holiday #5)

April 22 – May 3 --------------------------------------- TCAP Testing

May 23, Thursday---------------------------------------Admin In-Service #6 (Records Day) NO STUDENTS

May 24, Friday .................................................. Last Day of School – Report Cards – End of 4th Quarter (44 days)

 

Annual Kids First Coupon Book Sales

September 7-21, 2012

 

Pre-Registration for Pre-K and Kindergarten

May 6, 2013

 

IN-Service Days

ADMINISTRATIVE IN-SERVICE 2012-13 (6 DAYS) PAID VACATION – (10)

August 2, 2012, August 3, 2012, August 6, 2012, August 10, 2012 October 5, 2012 – ½ day, December 21, 2012 – ½ day, May 23, 2013

 

Teacher Professional Development Days

TEACHER PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT (6 Days) Students do not attend classes.

August 8, 2012 (System-Wide), August 9, 2012, September 3, 2012, October 5, 2012 – ½ day a.m., December 21, 2012 – ½ day a.m.,

January 7, 2013, January 8, 2013 (System-Wide), March 19, 2013 March 29, 2013

 

 

 

Paid Vacation / Holidays

November 22-23, 2012

December 24, 2012 - January 4, 2013

January 21, 2013

March 29, 2013

 

DAYS TO BE COUNTED EACH GRADING PERIOD SECONDARY PROGRESS REPORTS

1ST Term

1st Quarter: 8/2 - 10/5/12 Elem. Mid-Term 9/7 Report Cards 10/19 41.5 lst Nine Weeks: 8/24 and 9/14

2nd Quarter: 10/15 - 12/21/12 Elem. Mid-Term 11/9 Report Cards 1/11 46.5 2nd Nine Weeks: 11/9 and 12/7

2nd Term

3rd Quarter: 1/7 - 3/15/13 Elem. Mid-Term 2/1 Report Cards 3/22 48 3rd Nine Weeks: 1/25 and 2/15

4th Quarter: 3/18 - 5/24/13 Elem. Mid-Term 4/12 Report Cards 5/24 44 4th Nine Weeks: 4/12 and 5/3

TOTAL 180

Parent Teacher Conferences

Parent-Teacher Conferences will be held the weeks of October 22 - 26, 2012 and February 11 - 15, 2013.

Students will be dismissed ½ day on October 26, 2012 and ½ day on February 15, 2013.