Tennessee Education Association

Great Public Schools for All Students


Inadequate state funding is starving our public schools

Long before COVID-19 hit Tennessee, our public schools were already plagued by chronic under-funding by the state. Gov. Bill Lee’s proposed budget includes increases for K-12, but falls far short of what the state can afford, what our schools need, and doesn’t get us out of the bottom five states for school funding.

TEA is asking all educators and public education advocates to stand with the association in demanding a significant increase in public education funding. At a time when the state surplus is soaring, there is no excuse to leave our schools starving for state funds. Watch the video (at left or above if you're reading on your mobile phone) and download the TEA talking points on education funding to prepare to lobby the administration and General Assembly

Below you will find a one-pager for every district in the state detailing the local and state funding for the district. This document illustrates the gap in state investment in our public schools and the burden placed on school districts to make up the difference. The BEP is broken. It is critical that legislators hear from educators in their district on the funding issues plaguing our public schools. TEA is asking local leaders to use the one-pagers below to educate Tennessee legislators and push for increased funding. TEA has also put together a short video primer on the funding issue that should be shared with educators and legislators.

TEA-Local State Funding Per Student Fact Sheet, by District
Alamo Dayton Hickman County McKenzie SSD Sevier County
Alcoa Decatur County Houston County McMinn County Shelby County
Anderson County DeKalb County H-Rock-Bruceton SSD McNairy County Smith County
Arlington Dickson County Humboldt Meigs County South Carroll SSD
Athens Dyer County Humphreys County Milan SSD Stewart County
Bartlett Dyersburg Huntingdon SSD Millington Sullivan County
Bedford County Elizabethton Jackson County Monroe County Sumner County
Bells Etowah Jefferson County Montgomery County Sweetwater
Benton County Fayette County Johnson City Moore County Tipton County
Bledsoe County Fayetteville Johnson County Morgan County Trenton SSD
Blount County Fentress County Kingsport Murfreesboro Trousdale County
Bradford SSD Franklin County Knox County Newport Tullahoma
Bradley County Franklin SSD Lake County Oak Ridge Unicoi County
Bristol Germantown Lakeland Obion County Union City
Campbell County Gibson County SSD Lauderdale County Oneida SSD Union County
Cannon County Giles County Lawrence County Overton County Van Buren County
Carter County Grainger County Lebanon SSD Paris SSD Warren County
Cheatham County Greene County Lenoir City Perry County Washington County
Chester County Greeneville Lewis County Pickett County Wayne County
Claiborne County Grundy County Lexington Polk County Weakley County
Clay County Hamblen County Lincoln County Putnam County West Carroll SSD
Cleveland Hamilton County Loudon County Rhea County White County
Clinton Hancock County Macon County Richard City SSD Williamson County
Cocke County Hardeman County Madison County Roane County Wilson County
Coffee County Hardin County Manchester Robertson County  
Collierville Hawkins County Marion County Rogersville  
Crockett County Haywood County Marshall County Rutherford County  
Cumberland County Henderson County Maryville Scott County  
Davidson County Henry County Maury County Sequatchie County